Shuggie Otis Adds More North American Tour Dates

Shuggie Otis has announced five more North American tour dates! The new shows will take place in late July through August as he visits cities in the United States and Canada. Visit the Shuggie Otis Events page for all the concert dates.

  • July 20 – Lee’s Palace – Toronto, ON
  • July 22 – The Sinclair – Cambridge, MA
  • July 24 – Brooklyn Bowl – Brooklyn, NY
  • July 30 – The Ardmore Music Hall – Ardmore, PA
  • August 3 – Terminal West – Atlanta, GA

Shuggie Otis Announces New U.S. Concert Dates

Shuggie Otis has been making a well-deserved comeback, touring since the 2013 release of Inspiration Information/Wings Of Love. His show at Music Hall of Williamsburg in April 2013 was recorded, and this past fall he released those recordings as his first-ever live album, Live in Williamsburg, on Cleopatra Records.

Shuggie’s heading back out on the road this year. Visit the Shuggie Otis Events page for concert dates and read more at Brooklyn Vegan.

  • May 22 – The New Parish – Oakland, CA
  • May 23 – Harlow’s – Sacramento, CA
  • May 24 – Troubadour – West Hollywood, CA
  • June 6 – Rialto Theatre – Tucson, AZ
  • July 25 – B.B. King Blues Club and Grill – New York, NY
  • July 31 – Howard Theatre – Washington, DC

Shuggie Otis To Release ‘Live In Williamsburg’ Album October 14

Shuggie Otis’ first-ever live album, Live in Williamsburg, is due out on October 14 on Cleopatra Records.

This show was recorded at Brooklyn’s Music Hall of Williamsburg on April 19, 2013, as part of his recent comeback tour. Otis played with a live band including his son Eric on guitar and his brother Nick on drums. (His son Lucky has also played in the band, although it seems that he wasn’t involved in this particular show.)

This live CD will be followed by a DVD version of the same concert. Otis also has a new studio album in the works and more tours on the horizon.

Track listing:

1. Inspiration Information
2. Tryin’ to Get Close to You
3. Aht Uh Mi Hed
4. Island Letter
5. Me and My Woman
6. Sparkle City – Miss Pretty
7. Sweetest Thang
8. Picture of Love
9. Wings of Love
10. Doin’ What’s Right
11. Shuggie’s Boogie
12. Strawberry Letter 23

Shuggie Otis At Exit/In – Concert Review From Nashville Scene

In the end, Shuggie Otis and his band set a new standard for funk, soul and blues shows that’s going to be pretty hard to beat. … Shuggie’s guitar solos were mind-blowing torrents of notes, delivered at hard-bop speed without sweating a drop. Both he and his wind section went to town with a range of complex harmonic relationships that would make Charlie Parker jealous. Otis may have played most of the parts himself on his albums, but his choice of bandmates couldn’t have been more appropriate, and they followed his every move with incredible feel, making what was insanely difficult look easy.

Read the complete review at Nashville Scene.

Photo credit: Angelina Castillo